A small but irritating bug in wordpress.com

Although the bug found on my personal blog, but I am posting about it here. As you all know recently wordpress.com has got new looks with all new dashboard and everthing. The dashboard looks great, many of you might have noticed a small tip (like below) on your dashboard if you haven’t updated your about page.

WordPress.com Tip

Worpress tip in Dashboard

Problem:

The tip is good to remind you if you have forgotten about page. Now the problem is when I click on “Update your about page” in the dashboard tip, it takes me to edit the page with post id = 2 which does not exist, so it looks like post id = 2 is hard coded in that link.

Page ID

Hard Coded page id

Error Message when the I access the above link

Page deleted

Although I have an about page on my blog which can be access via /about/ but its not the original about page with post id = 2 that was created when I registered that blog. I deleted that page quite a long time ago and then I created a new page which has now post id = 5.

New About Page

My Newly Created About Page

New Post with id = 5

Solution:

It would be nice if its changed to read the page id from permalink that points to /about/ as I and may be many others don’t have the about page with page id = 2 any more.

So for me this irritating tip will never go away until the problem is fixed by the great guys working at wordpress.com. I hope they will soon get time for this ;). Beside this wordpress.com is great.

Happy blogging!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

