Ubuntu 7.10: Hibernate or Suspend does not work with restricted ATI drivers.

Due to a bug in restricted ATI drivers Hibernate or Suspend does not work on Ubuntu 7.10. When I tried to Hibernate/Suspend I got a blank screen which waited for nothing for ever. So I put a little search on the issue and found that this is the problem with ATI restricted drivers. Currently there are only 2 solutions for the problem:

  1. Use OpenSource ATI drivers.
  2. Stay with Ubuntu Fiesty, which is absolutely not a good option for many of us.

Note: I haven’t tested any of the above solutions. But this is what I found while doing the search for the solution of this problem.

I am not going to use OpenSource ATI drivers, because I don’t really need Hibernate/Suspend currently. When I will be needing them I will surely go for the OpenSource drivers. But maybe by that time we will have a fix/patch for the solution available.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

