Ubuntu Compiz Fusion on ATI

I tried Ubuntu on Acer Ferrari, it worked like charm. But when I tried to enable compiz fusion or so called desktop effects it wasn’t that straight. I would say it was a problem because every howto I found about enabling compiz fusion or desktop effects was missing the very basic requirement for desktop effect. That is xserver-xgl package, this package needs to be installed before you can enable desktop effects on your Ubuntu desktop. Use the command below to enable xgl on your Ubuntu.

Note: From Ubuntu 7.10 you only have to install the package, the xgl server will be automatically enabled.

apt-get install xserver-xgl

There wasn’t any other problem, the fglrx drivers from ubuntu repository worked fine for me. I have ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB that cam with my laptop. Need to check the rest of features, like camera, bluetooth mouse and connectivity my Nokia E50. I think enough for now.

Related Posts:

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Ubuntu Compiz Fusion on ATI”

  1. NaNO3 Says:

    thanks man!

  2. Hameedullah Khan Says:

    I am glad, that it was useful for someone. :)

  3. Hibernate and suspend works perfectly fine on ubuntu 8.04 « Azaad Source Says:

    […] Ubuntu Compiz Fusion onĀ ATI […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

