No! Windows Live Mail for FireFox 2.0

FireFox 2.0Today while logging in, I got invitation to try New Windows Live Mail Beta. The invitation claimed many new features and promised the faster mail access this time. So, I thought I should give it a try. I was using Firefox 2.0 on OpenSuSE 10.2. But I was surprised that Windows Live Mail is not for Firefox 2.0 or may be its because I was using Linux ;).

When I logged in my Inbox, to my surprise I found that it is no more ajax. I went for checking to make sure if they have really dropped AJAX from Windows Live Mail. And then I found in Options that I am using Windows Live Mail Basic. The instruction was given that full version is available for IE 6 and Firefox 1.5 or later.

I was surprised by this, because I am using Firefox 2.0. I don’t know why on the earth Firefox 2.0 is not later then Firefox 1.5. I hope this problem will be fixed soon. Below is the link to the screen shot that I took, have a look at No Windows Live Mail for FireFox 2.0.

May be that is the reason I prefer Gmail for all sort of email communications now. Because Gmail renders same on every good or bad browser. Gmail is also faster then Yahoo! Mail Beta and the old Windows Live Mail. I can’t say anything about new Windows Live Mail Beta, because they gave me basic version. I will try it again, when they will fix the FireFox 2.0 problem.

No Windows Live Mail on for Firefox 2.0

7 Responses to “No! Windows Live Mail for FireFox 2.0”

  1. mozey Says:

    well, its a different product!, different features, different code base, etc.

    So the releases of 1.X are fixes to the original ideas of that release. see what i mean!.

  2. Hameed Khan Says:

    Yes, it’s different but it is still a later version of Firefox 1.5 which has some major updates.

    Even if it is a different I know it can render their full version if it can rendered on Firefox 1.5. They should have supplied a link something like, “I don’t have IE6 or Firefox 1.5 or later but, Try Window Live Mail Anyway”

  3. redaemn Says:

    I have your same problem. I think that it’s not firefox or Microzoft fault… the problem is suse!! I tried windows live mail on kubuntu with firefox 2.0 and there was no problem.

  4. Hameed Khan Says:

    oh! then I will try it on some other distro soon.

  5. Rahul Batra Says:

    @redaemn:
    Yes, you are right, Windows Live Mail works perfectly when I run it on FF 2.0 @ Fedora Core 6. But, on my home machine (openSuse 10.2) I get only the basic version on Live Mail. I even tried changing the User Agent of FF, but it did not help.

    I have found only one solution to this problem:
    Remove the FF rpm package, and instead install FF again thru the .tar.gz available on mozilla’s site.

    I am desperately in need of a better soln. than this one :)

  6. Taylor Satula Says:

    You Should Try The Downloadable Live Mail It RULEZ!!!

  7. set up your own minecraft sever today Says:

    set up your own minecraft sever today…

    [...]No! Windows Live Mail for FireFox 2.0 « Azaad Source[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

